David is dean, distinguished professor, and provost professor of the School of Public Health at Indiana University–Bloomington.  He received his Ph.D. from Hofstra University. He completed a post-doctoral fellowship at Johns Hopkins University and held a faculty position at the NIH-funded New York Obesity Research Center at Columbia University until 2001, followed by 17 years at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, serving as distinguished professor and director of the NIH-funded Nutrition Obesity Research Center. An elected member of the National Academy of Medicine of the National Academies, his research interests include obesity, energetics, aging, longevity, statistical methods, and research rigor.

David is the William and Doris Krupp Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Diabetes Division at the University of Massachusetts School of Medicine, where he also serves as Co-director of the Diabetes Center of Excellence. From 2007 to 2010, he served as head of the Diabetes, Endocrinology, & Metabolic Diseases Branch of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). From 1999 to 2007, he was head of the Transplantation and Autoimmunity Branch at the NIH. His research interests are autoimmune illness – especially insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus – and tolerance mechanisms in organ and tissue transplantation. David has received numerous honors and awards, including the U.S. Navy Legion of Merit and the U.S. Public Health Service Physician Researcher of the Year Award. He has held academic medical appointments at the University of California, San Diego, Duke University, and Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences. David earned his B.S. from the University of Michigan and his M.D. from Duke University. He continued his postgraduate training at Duke, where he was an intern, resident, and fellow in endocrinology. Frustrated by the current dysfunction of the U.S. healthcare delivery system’s ability to actually foster better health outcomes for those living with diabetes, he has co-founded a new company (called Stability Health, LLC) focused on providing diabetes expertise to both patients and their physicians with one goal: improving outcomes in a cost-effective way.

Marc is a Professor of Medicine and occupies the Dr. Robert C. and Veronica Atkins Chair in Metabolic Nutrition at the University of California, Berkeley. He also maintains a joint appointment in the Department of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Hellerstein completed medical training at Yale Medical School with a fellowship in endocrinology at New England Medical Center and a Ph.D. in nutritional biochemistry from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Hellerstein’s major research interest has been the in vivo measurement of metabolic fluxes through pathways critical to health and disease as biomarkers for drug development and clinical diagnostics. This research has resulted in more than 250 publications, 70 issued patents, 40 pharmaceutical research programs, and participation on several editorial boards, including Science Translational Medicine.

Janet is a Professor Emeritus of Nutrition at the University of California, Berkeley, and a Senior Scientist Emeritus at Children’s Hospital Oakland Research Institute (CHORI).  Dr. King is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and the USDA Research Hall of Fame. She is recognized internationally for her research in maternal nutrition and human zinc requirements and has published over 300 papers and trained over 65 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows. She is the recipient of the International Underwood Award for Outstanding Research in Trace Elements, the W.O. Atwater award for distinguished nutrition research, and the Conrad Elvehjem award for public service in nutrition. Dr. King has been involved in implementing national and international nutrition policy throughout her career. She chaired the 2005 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee for the USA and the Food and Nutrition Board for the Institute of Medicine.  She was instrumental in developing the Dietary Reference Intake process as Chair of the Food and Nutrition Board. Prior to moving to CHORI in 2003, she directed the USDA Western Human Nutrition Research Center at the University of California, Davis (1995-2002) and chaired the Department of Nutritional Sciences, University of California, Berkeley (1988-1994), where she had served on the faculty since 1974.

Ronald is Senior Scientist and Dolores Jordan Endowed Chair at Oakland Research Institute, Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Nutritional Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley. He received his undergraduate and medical degrees with honors from Harvard University and completed his residency at the Harvard Medical Service of Boston City Hospital. He then joined the staff of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute in Bethesda, Maryland, first as Clinical Associate, and then as Senior Investigator in the Molecular Disease Branch, before accepting a position as Senior Scientist at Donner Laboratory at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He has published over 500 research articles and reviews on genetic, dietary, and drug effects on plasma lipoproteins and coronary artery disease. In recent years Dr. Krauss’s work has focused on interactions of genes with dietary and drug treatments that affect metabolic phenotypes and cardiovascular disease risk.

Dr. Krauss is board-certified in internal medicine, endocrinology and metabolism, and is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, a Fellow of the American Society of Nutrition and the American Heart Association (AHA), and a Distinguished Fellow of the International Atherosclerosis Society. He has served on the U.S. National Cholesterol Education Program Expert Panel on Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Cholesterol in Adults, was the founding chair of the AHA Council on Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Metabolism, and is a National Spokesperson for the AHA. Dr. Krauss has also served on both the Committee on Dietary Recommended Intakes for Macronutrients and the Committee on Biomarkers of Chronic Disease of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. Among his honors are the Centrum Center for Nutrition Science Award of the American Institute of Nutrition, the Edwin L. Bierman Memorial Lecture of the American Diabetes Association, and the National AHA Award of Meritorious Achievement.

Allan is the Edwards Professor of Cardiology and Professor of Medicine at McGill University, and Director of the Mike Rosenbloom Laboratory for Cardiovascular Research at Royal Victoria Hospital in Montreal. His current research interests are to understand the regulation of plasma LDL, to create simplified but advanced diagnostic algorithms to recognize and treat those with and those at high risk of vascular disease, and to develop new models to determine the absolute value of different strategies to identify and treat those at risk of vascular disease. He began and has continued a series of studies, which identified the most common dyslipoproteinemia associated with coronary artery disease – hyperTg hyperapoB. Study of the pathophysiology of hyperTg hyperapoB led to studies of the regulation of hepatic apoB secretion and the uptake and release of fatty acids by adipose tissue. Allan has conducted an extensive series of epidemiological studies, which have demonstrated apoB to be superior to LDL-cholesterol as a marker of the risk of vascular disease. He obtained his M.D. from the University of Toronto, did his clinical training at McGill University, and studied lipoprotein metabolism at the University of California, San Diego.